Supported by generous help from the Turnovsky Endowment Trust

Pinchas and Players – Wellington’s Zukerman Experience

By , 12/08/2009
Known primarily as one of the world’s top virtuoso violinists, Pinchas Zukerman has also developed a reputation as a chamber musician, firstly in association with Daniel Barenboim and Jacqueline du Pre on recordings of music by Beethoven; and more lately with a group formed by the violinist in 2002, the Zukerman Chamber Players. Here in New Zealand for the first time to take part in “The Zukerman Experience”, the... read more

Two Lunchtime concerts: Old St Paul’s and St Andrew’s on The Terrace

By , 12/08/2009

Old St Paul’s, Tuesday 11 August

The scheduled performer at this free lunchtime concert, Michael Fulcher, organist at the Cathedral of St Paul, had to make an urgent trip to Australia and assistant cathedral organist Richard Apperley stepped in.

He drew mainly on the repertoire that his CV describes as his particular interest: Buxtehude and contemporary organ... read more

Ensemble Selisih – making the difference

By , 12/08/2009
"Selisih", an Indonesian word meaning "argumentative discussion", was the name given by German composer Dieter Mack to his duo for alto and baritone saxophones. Mack, now on his third visit to New Zealand in a professional capacity, has lived in Indonesia studying gamelan performance practice, and (partly inspired by this) has made the interactions between players, one of the fundamental principles of his music. The name was subsequently adopted... read more

Panorama Theme by Themocracy